Coloring Your Hair At Home…Tips and Tricks

Hi. In this blog post I will teach you a few tips on coloring your hair at home and how to get it the color that you like. I do my own chemical treatments, trims, coloring etc. Yes, saving money is a motivator. But, a bigger issue is that some stylists want to do what they want to do to someone else’s hair. You tell them what you would like and they still do what they want. You tell them you want a trim and you walk out of there with a bob. I can ruin my own hair for free (except for the cost of products) so I decided to do that! I did have one kitchen beautician whom I met on Craigslist. She was great…she was about healthy hair and didn’t trim too much. But, I moved. 😦

I used to use semi permanent rinses on my hair like Adore in red and purple shades. This gave me a fun look in the sun. But, it didn’t show up too well on my off black hair. I could live with that if these semi permanent rinses didn’t run and bleed so much! Every time I washed my hair, the red dye would stain my towels and pillow cases. So, I decided to try an alternative. I washed my hair about 6 times with a clarifying shampoo to remove as much of the color as possible. I used the V05 Kiwi Clarifying Shampoo.

I now use Clairol Textures and Tones boxed hair dyes. They are permanent shades and they are great for textured (curly or kinky) hair because they contain no ammonia which can be super damaging to certain types of hair. This is the only boxed dye that is “true to color” that I have tried. What you see on the box is what you will get no matter how dark your hair is. I used “Flaming Desire”. Check out the featured image. My color hair looks just like the model’s hair even though I was starting with off black hair. You’ll see the color on me when I take my photos for my new album/mix tape that is being released on April 16th 2017.

I discovered an alternate method for getting boxed hair dye to show up true to color on dark hair. I don’t want to be blonde. But, if I do get the bug, I know how to get there without bleach. I discovered this method while watching YouTube late one night. I took notes on my cellphone but I cannot find the video now. Anyway, for a light ash brown/blonde hue on dark hair, purchase L’Oreal Preference Ultra Light Ash Blonde. If you are doing your whole head, you might need two boxes. Purchase 2-3 packs of Ardell red and gold color corrector. You can get that at Sally’s Beauty Supply. Mix the color corrector into the dye when you are mixing it. For retouching your hair, let the hair process for 30 minutes and then for the last five minutes you can “refresh” the color by pulling it through the rest of your hair for five minutes.

These are the things that I have learned. Hopefully, these tips will be helpful to others. If you have any questions, please let me know in the comments and I will try to answer. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

