A Virtual Poetry Jam…sorta….

I know this time of year can be depressing. Christmas and New Year’s is over. Valentine’s Day is coming. But, first of all, a lot of people don’t have a romantic partner or have recently lost one. And second, V-Day is relatively minor as holidays go. On top of that, it is still cold and rainy in plenty parts of the U.S.A., Canada and Europe. So, I decided to do a little something different by posting a poem I wrote instead of advice. The poem is about wo(man)’s best friend. Even if you are not a “dog person”, you have to admit that they have such loyalty and devotion towards their pack (i.e. the humans they reside with). May we all just slow down, read that poem and reflect on the fact that such marvelous little creatures live in our midst.

========================

Pooch by Krystal Brown

 

You are exasperating!

Your capers are frustrating

Peeing on the floor,

and scratching at the door

You look at me with those huge dark eyes

Shining like black pearls

I am your world

And I forgive you

I love all pets

But you connect

Dare I say you understand

In a way that the rest never can

We are so in sync

You and me

You shrink not from touch

Our least for you is enough

You don’t live long enough

Your longest for us

is not enough

Leave a Reply

